Subrina Singh: “I look “all together” but it’s all a facade”

11202653_522978537852629_5507422255217312256_n

“I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder at 16. I still remember the date as the date that completely changed my life: October 26, 2006. I thought my life was over; little did I know it was that day that I truly realized who I was…Honestly, I think because I am bipolar, I don’t have a choice but to be strong and persevere. I am the best version of myself. So many of my cherished qualities are the result of my bipolar disorder and for that I wouldn’t trade it for the world…

I look “all together” but it’s all a facade…What people don’t see when they look at me is that I have been committed to in-patient psychiatric care four times in my life. They don’t see a girl that can’t survive a day without her meds; they only see what I present.

But that’s how I want them to see me. I don’t want people to see my struggle or my pain because that’s not all being bipolar is. Being bipolar has made me a strong, courageous and driven human being but people won’t see that once they know I am bipolar. I have accepted that with knowing the truth, people will judge me and for that I pretend. Because in the end it only matters how being bipolar makes me feel. How does it make me feel? Grateful. I owe so much of who I am to being bipolar and for that I feel blessed, even though I know the world sees it as a curse.”

~ Subrina Singh, Masters Graduate Columbia University

You can connect with Subrina here: https://twitter.com/SubrinaLaLaLa

Leave a Reply

