Aekta Kapoor: “In a society with limitless conversation taboos, I’ve learned you can only fight social judgment with naked honesty.”

12118691_525833637567119_6166135453485056715_n

“A lot of internal change came about from letting go of ingrained social fears, superstitions, and doubts. I jumped into single-motherhood in a conservative society with nothing but total surrender in my heart, and faith that I would survive. And not only did I survive; I also managed to inspire several others along the way.

By letting go of what “should” happen or what “could” happen, you free up your life to various little surprises and joys. You may not lead the life you want, but you will lead a meaningful, miraculous existence…

By allowing myself to be myself—even if the realization came at age thirty—I allow others to be themselves around me too.

In a society with limitless conversation taboos, I have learned that you can only fight social judgment with naked honesty. When you speak up about your life’s challenges and open yourself up to receiving care and support, you allow others to do the same.

We’re all in the same boat, undergoing the same learning process and internal struggles. We are all equally perfect in our imperfections.

Freedom lies not on pieces of legal paper or in the physical space you have around you. It lies in your mind. As long as you cling to others’ definitions of truth, beauty, and happiness, you’ll always be chained. Create your own definition. Carve your own path. Chances are, it’s going to be mind-blowing.”

~Aekta Kapoor

You can connect with Aekta here: https://twitter.com/AektaKapoor

via http://tinybuddha.com/…/freeing-yourself-when-you-feel-lim…/

Leave a Reply

