Pavita Singh: “For a long time, I felt that having anxiety was incompatible with being Indian.”

12141707_529000587250424_7993743127815598279_n

“Mental illness is misunderstood and considered highly taboo in many South Asian communities. I have been advised against discussing my experiences with anxiety, especially with other Indians, because of this stigma. For a long time, I felt that having anxiety was incompatible with being Indian…

My anxiety has given me experiences and stories that have shaped me just as much as my Indian heritage and my many other aspects of my identity. So instead of avoiding this seeming incongruity, I choose to embrace it…My research and my own experiences helped me realize that being Indian and having anxiety do not have to be mutually exclusive.

My mental health, my ethnic background, and my passions and experiences come together, like puzzle pieces without clearly defined edges, creating something rich and complex, which I hope will help create a better world for people everywhere.”

via Pavita Singh

You can connect with Pavita here: https://twitter.com/princesspavita

Read more here: http://www.elephantjournal.com/…/tackling-the-stigma-of-me…/

Leave a Reply

