“I knew from an early age the family honor and what the community valued is far more important than my happiness”

12509847_556817131135436_5976245267382213921_n

“I remember growing up feeling a huge sense of shame and that I’ve let my family down. I went through so many struggles such as depression until only a year ago, anxiety, and I lost my confidence because I started to feel abnormal – partly because there was nobody to tell me that being gay is normal. I felt isolated and didn’t have anyone to talk to or any other avenues.

Growing up in the 80s, my parents had migrated from India which was already a culture shock. And then we lived in a predominantly Asian area with no gay Asian role models in the media, whereas there are loads in the Western culture.

I knew from an early age the family honor and what the community valued is far more important than my happiness, so I started living a double life as there is only so much you can take.

I had to eventually leave home and be out of the environment where I felt trapped.

[To create change] the onus is on people who need to look at their own lives and decide if they want to live a lie to please their parents and just get married. But it is difficult. The Asian community also needs to be accepting. Why is it such a taboo when it is as natural as heterosexuality, especially when it is now legal under UK laws?

…I’m still a human being. God created me and God still loves me for me. I don’t think God would pick and choose to make people unequal.”

-Anonymous via http://aniladhami.com/…/being-gay-and-hindu-led-me-to-depr…/

Support for LGBTQ South Asians:

https://twitter.com/DesiWell…/…/help-for-lgbtq-desis/members

(This list is constantly being updated and will be on the website soon.)

Leave a Reply

