Somy Ali: “Today I’m sure I make bad choices but lesser than I did last year. And I think that’s what matters”

12241192_538400936310389_7379431761510847136_n

“As she found herself drowning deeper into a downward spiral, [child abuse survivor and Bollywood celebrity] Somy Ali eventually sought refuge in [the wrong crowd as well as] Bollywood and the arms of Salman Khan:

SOMY: “If you do not have a foundation as a child of what is right and what is wrong, and that abuse is deemed normal, you will veer towards similarly dysfunctional people and situations. You don’t fit in anywhere else and they’re the only ones that get you….

I don’t think you’re ever fully healed or can overcome [trauma]. You can become functional though and I would say the closest I’d be able to come to fully able to function is through my work with [my charity] No More Tears…Every time I help a child, boy or woman that’s being abused, it gives me immense gratification. It’s almost like you see yourself in the victims because you were a victim…

As a teenager, I made bad choices hanging out with the wrong crowd and in India. But then the difference is I left that phase and I made something of myself. Today I’m sure I make bad choices but lesser than I did last year. And I think that’s what matters.”

-Somy Ali, child abuse survivor and former Bollywood celebrity now founder of domestic violence charity, No More Tears

Connect with Somy and her charity here:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/somy.ali
Twitter: https://twitter.com/NMTProject
Website: http://nmtproject.org/

Leave a Reply

